top of page



What’s it all about?

It is estimated that 1 in 10 of us could be subject to a food borne illness each year.


What do they cover?

These awards are designed to address the national occupational standards in food safety for manufacturing and incorporate the legal requirement for all food businesses to operate a food safety management system based on HACCP principles (Hazard Analysis Critical Control Point).

Level 2 award focuses on the importance of food hygiene, associated food safety hazards, good hygiene practice and controls based upon awareness of food safety management systems.

Level 3 award provides supervisors with a knowledge of the development and implementation of food safety management procedures commensurate with their responsibilities. It focuses on taking responsibility for food safety monitoring procedures, identifying hazards to food safety, taking appropriate action in the light of those hazards and contributing to improvements in food safety practice. Level 4 award provides managers with the level of knowledge they need to develop and implement food safety management procedures commensurate with their responsibilities. It develops knowledge in managing the legal and operational aspects of the business, establishing an evaluating food safety management procedure, establishing effective action plans and allocating responsibility in food safety matters

How will my staff benefit from them?

These awards enable you to demonstrate to environmental health enforcers that your staff have been properly trained in food safety in accordance with the national occupational standards. Level 3 and 4 holders are also eligible to train staff at lower qualification levels. The awards cover all the topics relating to hygiene, legal and operational requirements that your staff will need to operate the business safely and effectively. 

Food Hygiene for Manufacturing

bottom of page